NIRC Honors Coaches of the Year & All-Academic Recipients

WORCESTER, Mass. – The National Invitational Rowing Championships (NIRC) has announced the recipients of the regatta’s postseason awards. Williams College head coach, Marc Mandel, was named NIRC Men’s Coach of the Year by his peers. Wellesley College’s Tessa Spillane was voted Women’s Coach of the Year.

The NIRC is also pleased to honor 427 student-athletes with NIRC All-Academic accolades.

For a student-athlete to be recognized to the NIRC All-Academic Team they must have completed one full-year at their institution (freshmen and first-year transfers are not eligible), maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.35 and be recognized as a varsity letter winner.  A full list of winners can be found below.

View the full list of 2022 NIRC All-Academic Honorees.

Mandel earned the Coach of the Year title after guiding Williams to the 2022 NIRC men’s title. The Ephs rowed to wins in the first and second varsity eight categories. The third varsity eight finished in fifth, while the fourth finished in third, giving the Ephs the overall point trophy.

Mandel gave much of the credit for the recognition to his team. “Any coaching award in the sport of rowing is really a reflection of the purposeful work our athletes put in throughout our practices during the year, so I am grateful for the trust they put in our teaching and training process,” stated Mandel. “It was a special year in many ways, and our team executed time and time again, building from one race to the next.”

Like Mandel, Wellesley head coach Tessa Spillane attributes much of the Blue’s success to the student-athletes and coaches that surround her. “I am truly humbled,” expressed Spillane. “I have an amazing team of student- athletes and wonderful assistant coaches in Emilie Muller and Emilia Ball. After being away from spring racing since 2019, this is honestly an award for our whole program.”

Spillane led the Wellesley varsity eight and second varsity eight to second place finishes in their respective races. The third varsity eight came in at the third spot, while the fourth finished sixth overall.

Both coaches are honored to have been acknowledged for their hard work and success, especially by their fellow coaches.

“To be recognized by this special group, who in their own careers have accomplished so much with their teams, is truly special,” said Mandel.

“With rowing and racing in a Covid year, I think given all of the hard work that each team had to put forth to make it possible makes this award even more humbling to have been chosen by my peers,” added Spillane. “Quite honestly this award should be given to everyone.”